Thursday, February 24, 2011

Sick as a Funstrated Donkey




...or perhaps that should say, "dog-monkey," as the picture above is pretty damn sick, if you care to look at it for about half an hour and not many people would. However, that's when something is sick in a good way. Sick is popularly used in Australia by boys in the age group of five to forty-five as another word for good, great, fantastic, any word that can be used to express great delight towards something. For example, if a bloke gets his car fixed and back on the road, this will be considered by himself and all of his mates as sick. I've probably mentioned before that I wash dishes for a living. Perhaps I'm just imagining things. If that's the case, then I wash dishes for a living and I'll try not to tell you again. It was in this profession where I began to notice the overuse of sick in this way. A young apprentice chef that I once worked with, Garth, would use the word in almost any context:

"Hey Squeaky, we're gonna be running low on oval plates all through service tonight."
"No problem, as soon as they come back, I'll get them back over to your section."
"Sick. You'll wash them first, wont you?"
"Yeah, I'll wash them first. That goes without saying, really."
"Sick."

Unfortunately, right now, I am the other kind of sick. I'm so sick, that I couldn't go to work this evening which probably caused hassles for the kitchen staff, but I think I'm too sick to care.

What's the disease called where you throw up, have the runs, feel incredibly weak all over and have an aching neck and shoulders? Whatever it's called, it's that one.

Donkey Kong. A very funstrating game that's been around for...donkeys' years. Wow. I should totally write more when I'm sick. Shut up, Squeaky.

The story I had always heard about the game's weird name was one that I read in Mean Machines(click here) magazine: The title was a mistake due a blurry fax and that the game was actually meant to be called Monkey Kong. I went with this story all through my teens and twenties, sometimes even chatting up women with the story. You can probably imagine how many girls have slept with me because I told them the story of Donkey Kong. However, there are other stories, like one where DK game designer, Shigeru Miyamoto was trying to find a word in a Japanese-English dictionary to best describe a "stupid, stubborn gorilla" and "donkey" came up as a fitting option.

Also, there are aspects of the Donkey Kong game's storyline that don't sit very well with me. Apparently, the Kong character is supposed to be the pet of the then-carpenter, now-plumber, Jumpman who is now much more widely known as Mario. According to the storyline, Mario "mistreated" his giant pet gorilla and he started to go...apeshit...Squeaky, maybe DON'T write when you're sick. As part of his campaign of going bananas, Kong took "Jumpman's" girlfriend hostage up a few ladders, up a few slopes and finally to the very top. Presumably, this is where some sort of distillery or cellar happens to be located, as Kong certainly doesn't run out of barrels to roll down all those slopes towards our so-called hero, Mario. Jumpman. Whatever.

Let me get one thing straight. Anyone who mistreats their pets is no hero in my book. In fact, the only major flaw of the Donkey Kong game is that it's characters are the wrong way around. The hero is clearly meant to be Donkey Kong, the mistreated pet. But no, let's all bleed and cry for poor Mario who has put himself in this situation by being a total shit towards his pet primate. Having a pet is a big responsibility, Mario. If you neglect your pets, they run amok and will most-likely take your girlfriend hostage...Or are you just too "stupid and stubborn" to know that?

Saturday, February 12, 2011

David Duchovny




I love David Duchovny. He is easily one of the coolest men alive today. I guess, if you were David Duchovny, you'd find it pretty damn hard not to fall completely in love with yourself and start thinking that you're Jesus, Stalin or anyone else who is well known for being cool and out there. If you're a man who likes girls and you find that looking at David Duchovny causes you a slight cremasteric reflex(click here if you don't know what that is) then don't worry. Relax. All men react to David Duchovny this way.

A few years ago, it was reported that David Duchovny got admitted to a rehab clinic to treat sex addiction. This was a good move for him. It is widely known that coming off a high-dependency sex addiction cold-turkey can be very dangerous, even fatal. At the very least, one will suffer cold sweats, high fever, nausea, vomiting and diarrhea(or "the shits" as it is better known as in the medical profession). As someone who has successfully beaten sex addiction(three dry years, five stiff months and two blue-ball days now, thanks readers), slowly weening yourself off it is the only way to beat it...

He he he - beat it!

Suffering from sex addiction(...suffering from sex addiction?...just go with it?...okay...)

Suffering from sex addiction, Duchovny did his best to keep his mind off sex by throwing himself into his work...on a new show, called Californication. It was just the sort of relaxed, wholesome project that a sex addict should want to undertake. I don't know who Duchovny's agent is, but they sure-as-hell made the right move there.

David Duchovny loves himself. You would too if you were David Duchovny. And I think that David Duchovny loves being loved by David Duchovny fans like me. Therefore, I think that....yes, most-definitely, somehow, this means that David Duchovny loves me too. And as a tribute to David Duchovny, to the love he gives, to the love he receives, I present to you my new video. In this video, I re-enact David Duchovny's pitch to the Showtime network his idea for Californication.

Enjoy!

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Bros: A Tribute....or....

Bros were an amazing pop rock band who shook the earth of the British music scene with a string of spine-tingling singles and awe-inspiring albums from 1986 to 1992....

....hang on a moment....

....I know what you're thinking. You think I'm just being shallow and sarcastic, don't you? You're waiting for my bitchy little axe to fall and proceed to chop up the Goss twins(singer Matt and drummer Luke) along with bassist Craig Logan into a Brosburger, ready to be flame grilled right here on my silly little blog page. Well, let me get this straight: I really, really love Bros........

...........................

........Here at squeakygates.blogspot.com, we appreciate that your time most-definitely is important and we will be back on track as soon as possib..........

.....Okay, are you still there, readers? Thank you for holding on.....

I'll be honest with you: I'm bullshitting. It's not that I really, really love Bros. But I do honestly feel that they deserve some kind of tribute, you know? It's been 23 years since their album Push came out and that's a bloody good album if you ask me...........................................

....Alright, look.......I've never actually listened to Push. Okay? In fact, I couldn't even be bothered downloading it for free when I was researching the band for this article....OKAY!! I didn't do any research!! Do you think I'm lazy? Get stuffed. I'm not getting paid for this. This is a hobby for me and it's for your benefit - to provide you with a cheap laugh or two. If you think I'm lacking sincerity in this article, then download the album yourself. Hell, go out and pay money for it if you think they need the money. Maybe I haven't heard the album before but I know that you'll be skipping over those tracks like they're hopscotch squares and writing me apologetic letters before the sun goes down.

How about this for an idea: Bros contributed to the "sounds of the 80s" in a big way....a big way?....Okay, after the contributions of Prince, David Byrne, Joy Division/New Order, Michael Jackson, Kenny Loggins, Devo, The Cure, Van Halen, ZZ Top, Genesis, Madonna, U2, Wham!, Cyndi Lauper, Depeche Mode, Eurythmics, Lionel Richie, Run D.M.C, Blondie, INXS, Gary Numan, Human League, The Pretenders, Billy Idol, Salt-N-Pepa, Bruce Springsteen, Dire Straits, Rick James, Rick Springfield, Culture Club, Split Enz/Crowded House, The Cars, Frankie Goes To Hollywood, Foreigner, The Smiths and about five hundred others...then, yeah...okay...I guess we could tack Bros onto that list's appendix....colon....whatever

Having said all of that, Bros had a legacy.....Oh come on, Squeaky. For Christ's sakes, be serious. Let me put it this way: Bros wore great clothes...........Like that red jacket, for example......the 80s were the only decade that deserved the rights to red jackets like that and that's the only reason why they've stayed in the 80s. Okay? It's not because they attract bulls. It's definitely not because they look utterly offensive to humans....

Well readers, I have really struggled with writing this article. I guess I can't think of anything that great to say about Bros. So I've decided to pay tribute to them in my latest video: (By the way, this video would not be up without the much-appreciated help of my friend, Purple Thing, who filmed it while simultaneously singing the lead vocals - Thanks, dear friend xxx)

Thanks for reading/watching.

Enjoy!

107.6 Degrees Fahrenhaagen Dazs




Stinking, pinking, rink-a-dink-dinking hot day today, readers.

42 degrees Celsius in the afternoon and it doesn't feel like it's cooled down very much at all at around one in the morning. Thankfully, I wont be going back to my dish washing job until Thursday when it will hopefully be cooler. If you're actually reading this, I feel like a total dick right now, writing about the fucking weather of all things. There's an R.E.M track, Pop Song '89, it's the first track on their album Green. Have a listen to it some time and maybe you'll understand why I'm feeling stupid. Michael Stipe actually seems to be mocking you in a rather sarcastic way for making dribbling, awkward conversation about things like "the weather". Now and then, you might hear some jaded old dickbag musician(pick one - what a smorgasbord of choices!) trying, while being interviewed, to hide behind a woefully false claim that his shitty single from twenty five years ago actually had an "irony" or a "sarcasm" to it's badly penned lyrics. This doesn't apply to Stipe...because I say so, that's why and if you don't agree, you know where your mouse buttons are.

Now that's how you write a paragraph, readers. Explain the gist of it in the first sentence and pour a heap shit into the middle of it to confuse the reader. Finally, conclude the paragraph by driving your reader straight into a smug, opinionated brick wall that has nothing to do with what you started it with. Pure brilliance.

Here's my latest video. Thanks for reading!